CLAT Consortium Official Website, Helpline, Contact Details

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is conducted by the consortium of National Law Universities, also known as CLAT consortium. The national-level law entrance exam, CLAT is a gateway for admissions to the national law universities of India. 

CLAT consortium was established in August 2017, with the aim of improving the legal education system in India and ensuring better management and coordination among all the national law universities. 

Since the inception of CLAT consortium, the national-level law entrance exam has become more organised, transparent and effective. To know more about CLAT consortium, exam modalities and others, read the complete article. 

What is the CLAT consortium?

To make the Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) more effective and transparent and to better the legal education system in India, the national law universities came together to form a body, Consortium of National Law Universities (CNLU) in August 2017. Till date, all national law universities, except the National Law University Delhi, are part of the CLAT consortium. 

CLAT Consortium – Contact Information

  • Address: P.O. Bag 7201, Nagarbhavi,
    Bangalore – 560 072 Karnataka, India
  • Mail ID:
  • Helpline Number: 08047162020
  • Official Website:

What is CLAT?

The Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is a national-level law entrance exam conducted every year by the CLAT consortium. The law entrance exam is conducted for admissions to undergraduate (UG) and postgraduate (PG) law programs offered by National Law Universities.

Candidates must note the acceptability of CLAT is beyond national law universities as more than 50 law colleges consisting of both government and private institutions accept the CLAT scores for admissions into law courses.

CLAT consortium – Participating members

At present, there are 24 national law universities that are participating members of CLAT consortium. The names of some CLAT accepting colleges are mentioned in the table below.

List of National law universities participating in CLAT

Name of NLUsSeats in 5-year LLB programmesTotal LLM seats
NLSIU Bangalore240100
NLU Hyderabad13266
NLU Jodhpur10450
NUJS Kolkata132100
GNLU Gandhinagar17257
RGNUL Patiala18060
NLU Lucknow16924
NLU Odisha, Cuttack18044
NLU Assam, Guwahati6060
NLIU Bhopal12060
CNLU Patna138
NLU Kochi12050
NLU Ranchi12040
NLU Visakhapatnam13869
NLU Trichy12060
MNLU Mumbai15050
MNLU Nagpur24045
MNLU Aurangabad6060
NLU Shimla18080
NLU Jabalpur12050
HNLU Raipur18090
Dr B.R. Ambedkar National Law University120
GNLU Silvassa6633
NLUT Agartala12050

Also read

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *